Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Marian Library

Marian Library Books

The Marian Library’s collections of published materials include circulating and reference books, periodicals, rare books, theses and dissertations, and pamphlets. The collections document the history, spirituality and ecclesial foundations of Marian studies. As devotions to Mary are present in cultural traditions around the world, the collection is international in scope and includes materials in more than 100 languages. Some areas of the collection have different borrowing and description standards due to the long history of the Marian Library and the rarity of the materials.

Most circulating and rare books can be found by using Advanced Search in the online catalog and selecting "Marian Library" in the Location field.

 

Catalog Search

Brother William Fackovec, S.M. Rare Book Collection

The Brother William Fackovec, S.M. Rare Book Collection includes over 6,200 cataloged volumes published between 1473 and 1800 and rare, first edition, or specially bound editions of works published after 1800 that document cultural expressions of Marian doctrine and devotion. Significant holdings include books of hours (illuminated devotional manuscripts from the 15th century), incunabula (books printed before 1500), meditations and apologetic works from the 17th and 18th century, and works printed in Mexico during the 16th and 17th century. The collection is named in honor of Brother William Fackovec, S.M., librarian in the Marian Library from 1960 to 2011. Many of the books in the collection were acquired by him during visits to rare book dealers in Europe.

Finding Rare Books

Use Advanced Search in the online catalog to locate rare books in the Marian Library and refine by language and date.

Clugnet Collection

The Marian Library acquired the Clugnet Collection in 1953, encompassing over 6,500 books, pamphlets, and offprints dedicated to Marian shrines from the private collection of bibliographer Léon Clugnet (1848-1920), primarily in French, Italian, Spanish, German, and English. Published materials in this non-circulating collection date from the sixteenth to the twentieth centuries, with the majority of materials printed between 1840 and 1910. The collection includes approximately 1,800 volumes specially bound for Clugnet as well as Clugnet's Bibliographie du culte local de la Vierge Marie.

Finding Books in the Clugnet Collection

Use Advanced Search in the online catalog to locate rare books in the Marian Library's Clugnet Collection.

Tip: Researchers may also wish to consult the Clugnet Marian Image Collection and the periodicals collection for other materials collected by Clugnet. For more information, email marianlibrary@udayton.edu.

Pamphlets

The Marian Library's Pamphlet Collection contains over 11,200 pamphlets and other ephemeral publications dating from the nineteenth century to the early twenty-first century. Many of these are only documented in the Marian Library.

Finding Materials in the Pamphlet Collection

Use the catalog to locate individual pamphlets. Most pamphlets have minimal catalog records due to the limited author and publication information they contain, so keyword searches tend to work better than subject or author searches.

chat loading...