Library Guides: CMM 436: Painter: Primary Sources

Primary Sources Databases

Remember, you may find primary sources within secondary sources (articles, books, etc.)

Independent Voices
A collection of alternative press publications, featuring independent newspapers and magazines that cover political, social, and cultural issues from diverse perspectives.
This collection of digitized alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals were published in the United States in the 1960s, 70s, and 80s. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, and the extreme right-wing press. The collection also includes alternative literary magazines, known as “little magazines,” which published experimental and avant-garde works. The publications in this collection were sourced from libraries, archives, historical societies, and community groups throughout the United States.
Progressive Digital Archive
A digital archive of *The Progressive* magazine, featuring articles and commentary on social justice, politics, and culture, spanning over a century of publication.
Since 1909, The Progressive, a monthly magazine, has aimed to amplify voices of dissent and those under-represented in the mainstream, with a goal of championing grassroots progressive politics. Content of this archive includes investigative reporting, political commentary, cultural coverage, activism, interviews, poetry, and humor.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
Library of Congress: Chronicling America
Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published from 1690-present.
Wayback Machine
The Wayback Machine is a digital archive of the World Wide Web founded by the Internet Archive. It allows us to go "back in time" and see how websites looked in the past.