Try These Databases:
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers English-language journals in the fields of nursing and allied health. Try using CINAHL Subject Headings to quickly build a search on a topic. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
Covers over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals back to 1946, with links to full text articles and other related resources. This database is free, and will be useful throughout your career in healthcare! - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A citation database with multidisciplinary coverage in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. Use this database to explore the citations when you already have an article in mind. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary resource that includes journals, magazines, books, reports and proceedings. Contains over 10,000 titles, some coverage from 1880s to the present. This database is a good starting point for when your topic may overlap with humanities or social sciences.
How Do I Find Peer Reviewed Articles?
Databases such as CINAHL, MEDLINE, PubMed, and Academic Search Complete are the best places to locate peer-reviewed articles.
Many databases provide a limiter or check-off box that allows you to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals. Be careful, however! Not all articles within a peer-reviewed journal are peer-reviewed articles. Editorials, commentaries, essays, letters to the editor, and book reviews are often found in peer-reviewed journals. These are not peer-reviewed.
