Visual Resources Librarian
Art and Artifacts
The Marian Library maintains a collection of over 14,000 works of fine art and cultural objects conceptualizing Mary, the mother of Christ. While the full collection is only searchable in an internal database, find a sampling of some of the unique art collections on eCommons.
Collection Areas
Nativity sets, or crèches, are three-dimensional representations of the Christmas story, the birth of Jesus Christ. Since this area of the collection began in 1984, 3,600 crèches from around the world have been acquired by the Marian Library.
- Marian Library Crèche CollectionLearn more about the Marian Library's collection of nativity sets.
- World Nativity Traditions on eCommonsBrowse a selection of digitized Nativities from the collection.
- Christmas ExhibitA selection of nativity sets are shared in an annual exhibit at Roesch Library.
The Crèche Museum is a dedicated space where a semi-permanent display of Nativities from the collection are on display year-round. It serves as the home of the popular "Mirror of Hope" art installation, commissioned for the Marian Library in 2000. This space is open during normal Marian Library hours on the seventh floor of Roesch Library.
- On Paper: Nativity Imagery from the Marian LibraryA virtual exhibit of Nativity imagery from across the Marian Library's expansive collections — all united by one common theme: paper.
From historical icons to photographs of Los Angeles street art, this diverse area of the collection includes depictions of Mary in Biblical and cultural settings from around the world.
- Holy Rosaries Mysteries Video SeriesPray the Rosary with these videos featuring images of Mary from the University of Dayton campus, the Marian Library and the U.S. Catholic Special Collection.
Used in public worship or personal devotion, statues of Mary can help encourage spirituality, share culture, and remind one of Mary's life and personal attributes. The Marian Library's sculpture collection depicts Mary in many cultures and apparitions.
- Sculpture in the Round on eCommonsDiscover a selection of Marian statues digitized using 360-degree imaging.
- Vision and Spirit: Marianist Spirituality in Bas Reliefs on eCommonsSeries of bas-reliefs by Spanish artist Antonio de Oteiza, Capuchin representing facets of the Marianist vision and spirit.
