Library Guides: Career Resources: Company and Industry Information

Research a Company

If you want to work at a particular company, its official website can provide useful information. To research more in-depth, use the following databases. For a broader overview, be sure to research its industry as well, particularly when you are preparing for an interview in that field.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
When researching a career, it's important to find out about the industry. IBISWorld reports provide current information and future outlooks for hundreds of U.S. industries.
This industry research database contains reports on industries in the China, Global, and U.S. markets. The U.S. content is further subdivided into: Industry Reports classified by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), Specialized Industry Reports for industries not adequately covered by NAICS, US Industry State Reports, US State Economic Profiles, US Industry iExpert Summaries, US Specialized Industry iExpert Summaries, US Business Environment Profiles, and US Business Environment State Profiles. Global industry reports are strong in the manufacturing sector. Each report contains an “at a glance” overview (including SWOT analysis), performance data, outlook data, products & markets analysis, competitive landscape analysis, lists of major companies, operating conditions, and key statistics. Statistics include financial ratios and industry averages from the Risk Management Association.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals, plus company profiles, SWOT analyses, industry research reports, and country profiles. Check out the "Company Information" section.
Access full-text articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals from the fields of marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Plus company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses, country economic reports, financial data, and investment reports. This database includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals. Full-text non-journal content includes company profiles, informational records, case studies, industry reports, business executive interviews, working papers, and over 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.