Biology

"world's largest and oldest scientific archive of biodiversity audio and video recordings"

"In order to highlight specific topics, from time to time PLoS Biology gathers together collections of articles." All articles under Creative Commons Attribution License.

Created by the American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB) and features still images, videos, and animations derived from the recent literature, as well as classic microscopy from earlier studies.

The digitization component of the Encyclopedia of Life, is a consortium of 12 major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions organized to digitize, serve, and preserve the legacy literature of biodiversity.

Botanicus is a freely accessible portal to historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library

The Biodiversity Collections Index aims to facilitate the understanding, conservation and utilisation of global biodiversity resources by creating a single annotated index of biodiversity collections.

BrainMaps.org is an interactive multiresolution next-generation brain atlas that is based on over 20 million megapixels of sub-micron resolution, annotated, scanned images of serial sections of both primate and non-primate brains and that is integrated with a high-speed database for querying and retrieving data about brain structure and function over the internet.

This website contains over 93,000 pages of searchable text and 212,000 electronic images, at least one exemplar of all known Darwin publications, reproduced to the highest scholarly standards, both as searchable text and electronic images of the originals. The majority of these have been edited and annotated for the first time with thousands of original editorial notes.

"virtual reconstruction of the surviving books owned by Charles Darwin."

"largest digitized collection of private papers of Charles Darwin held by Cambridge University Library."

Science.gov searches over 42 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.

"Imagine an electronic page for each species of organism on Earth..." - Edward O. Wilson

Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan

"10-year international effort undertaken in to assess the diversity (how many different kinds), distribution (where they live), and abundance (how many) of marine life"

"American Phytopathological Society's APSnet Education Center supports its public education mission by providing free instructional materials and reliable peer-reviewed publications constituting the open-access journal The Plant Health Instructor."

"mission is to make the latest developments in plant genome research more accessible to a wide audience by bringing together outreach activities from numerous university and government research centers."

Peer-reviewed articles address high-profile issues in biochemistry, cell biology, ecology, evolution, molecular biology, neuroscience, and related disciplines.