Library Guides: HST 150: Find Articles

Scholarly Articles - Following the Conversation

Academic journals and scholarly articles typically represent the reporting of the most current research in a given field. Whereas books may represent the amassed knowledge on a given subject, they often suffer from long publication times, and by the time they're published and distributed, there is often new research and knowledge in that field. For the most up-to-date look at your subject, look for scholarly articles in an academic database!

Recommended Databases

University of Dayton students, faculty and staff can access most electronic resources on or off-campus. For off-campus access, use your UD Porches username and password to authenticate.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of full-text academic journals, magazines, and other resources across multiple disciplines, supporting comprehensive research needs. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
This multidisciplinary resource includes full-text, peer-reviewed journals, periodicals and magazines. Also included are more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press, including footage from 1930-present. This database offers indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings dating as far back as 1865, with the majority of titles in searchable PDF format.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
A database focusing on the history of the U.S. and Canada, providing access to scholarly articles, book reviews, & dissertations on various historical topics and periods. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
This index of scholarly literature on United States and Canadian history and culture covers prehistoric times to the present. The database includes citations for journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations. Subject areas covered include history, anthropology, art, cultural studies, genealogy, literature & folklore, popular culture, sociology, women's and gender studies, geography, political science, and more. This is the electronic continuation of the print index "America: History and Life," published by ABC-CLIO.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
A resource offering access to scholarly articles, books, and reports in gender studies, covering topics related to gender, sexuality, and social justice across various disciplines. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
This database provides indexing and abstracts covering the full spectrum of gender-related scholarship inside and outside academia. It indexes scholarly and popular publications, including professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, discussion & working papers, theses, and dissertations. Subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism, and gender identity.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Access world history from 1450 to the present, providing access to scholarly articles, books, and dissertations, supporting research across historical topics and themes. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
As the electronic continuation of the print index "Historical Abstracts," this index of scholarly literature covers world history from the 15th century to the present. Resource types indexed include journal articles, magazines, books, and dissertations. The database includes indexing for over 2,300 journals in 40 languages with open access (OA) and full-text where available. Subject areas include African, East Asian, Jewish, Middle Eastern, and South Asian Studies; Anthropology & Archaeology; English, French, and Italian Language & Literature; Geography; History of Science, Medicine, and Technology; International Affairs; Political Science; North America, British Isles, and Global History; Sociology & Social Sciences; and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library with over 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in diverse fields, ideal for research and scholarly exploration.
This archive is a collection of over 12 million full-text scholarly journal articles, e-books, periodicals, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Browse subject areas including Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Medicine & Allied Health, Science & Mathematics, and Social Sciences. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Artstor, Ithaka S+R, and Portico.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A sociology research database offering full-text access to journals, books, and conference papers, covering social behavior, relationships, and cultural studies. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
This database includes full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals and magazines with searchable cited references, providing users with a wealth of information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. It also includes full text for more than 700 books and 6,000 conference papers. Abstracts for more than 800 journals are available back to 1895. Further, extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included. SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
UDiscover This link opens in a new window
A search tool with a Google-like relevancy ranking to help you retrieve all types of research sources with one search.
This search tool lets you retrieve all types of research sources with one search, simultaneously searching the UD catalog, OhioLINK catalog, and many of the online resources available through the University Libraries, in addition to institutional repositories and open-access resources. With UDiscover, you can access millions of journal articles, e-books, dissertations, conference proceedings, newspaper articles, videos, and primary sources. If you're looking for a variety of sources on your topic, or you're just getting started, UDiscover can help you access more information at once than ever before. It has a Google-like relevancy ranking, but helps you locate scholarly resources.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database for women's studies and feminist research. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
This bibliographic database for women's studies and feminist research provides indexing and abstracts for gender-focused journals, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, NGO studies, websites and web documents, reports, theses, dissertations, and grey literature from throughout the world. It is relevant to many disciplines, including sociology, history, international relations and humanities. Most material cited is in English; some in French-Canadian, Spanish, or other languages.