Your Librarian
Wide-Ranging Databases
University of Dayton students, faculty and staff can access most electronic resources on or off-campus. For off-campus access, use your UD Porches username and password to authenticate.
- UDiscover This link opens in a new window
A search tool that lets you retrieve all types of research sources with one search. If you're looking for a variety of sources on your topic, or you're just getting started, UDiscover can help you access more information at once than ever before. It has a Google-like relevancy ranking, but helps you locate scholarly resources.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A citation database with multidisciplinary coverage in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Contains over 150 million records. Includes international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Presents a collection of journal articles & book chapters published by Elsevier. Subjects include physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and humanities. All abstracts are available, but only subscribed content is full text.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary resource that includes journals, magazines, books, reports and proceedings. Contains over 10,000 titles, some coverage from 1880s to the present.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Large database of citations from papers, reports and books.
Engineering Databases
- ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
The ASM Handbook is a comprehensive and authoritative guide to the structure, properties, processing, performance, and evaluation of metals and nonmetallic engineering materials. Access is provided to all 24 volumes. - ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to around 40 ASME-supported journals and publications dating back to 1880.
- Engineering Source This link opens in a new window
Engineering Source is intended for researchers across all engineering disciplines, including biomedical, civil, electrical, mechanical, environmental and software. It includes more than 1500 full-text engineering journals, magazines and trade publications, plus books, conference papers and more.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
This resource includes IEEE conference papers, journals, books, and technical standards on covering electrical engineering, computer science and electronics research from 1988 to the present. All content published since 1988 available in full text.
Standards & Patents
- ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
This is the repository industry standards and technical information produced by ASTM International. Content includes books, articles, technical papers, and conference proceedings.
- Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new window
Combines patent information indexed from over 50 patent issuing authorities in the Derwent World Patent Index (1963-present) with patent citations indexed from the Derwent Patents Citation Index (1973-present).
