Find It!
Sometimes a search result may not provide you direct access to an article. Click on the Find It! icon to see if/where the article is available.
If an article is available online, you will see a link/icon on the top, left side of the screen under the phrase: "Get Full Text." Click on the link/icon. A new tab will open to the service hosting the article, where you will find a PDF link.
If an article is not immediately available in print or online, you will see the message "Request this title from another library via Interlibrary Loan." You may order an article through interlibrary loan by selecting the link. A new tab will open to UD's Interlibrary Loan page. Follow the directions to login and request the article.
Recommended Databases
University of Dayton students, faculty and staff can access most electronic resources on or off-campus. For off-campus access, use your UD Porches username and password to authenticate.
- CAS SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Chemical Abstracts literature from 1902 to the present. For UD students, staff & faculty only. UDRI employees are not eligible to use this database. New Users must register for an account with their UD email address.
- ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
Full text for ebooks and journals published by the American Chemical Society, each back to the first issue. - ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
This is the repository industry standards and technical information produced by ASTM International. Content includes books, articles, technical papers, and conference proceedings.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE is a free research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes more than 15,000 full-text records on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of interdisciplinary environmental journals including ecology, energy, natural resources, & pollution. Contains over 2,000,000 records from more than 1,900 titles going back to the 1940s. Full text for more than 750 journals.
- UDiscover This link opens in a new window
A search tool that lets you retrieve all types of research sources with one search. If you're looking for a variety of sources on your topic, or you're just getting started, UDiscover can help you access more information at once than ever before. It has a Google-like relevancy ranking, but helps you locate scholarly resources.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A citation database with multidisciplinary coverage in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Contains over 150 million records. Includes international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Presents a collection of journal articles & book chapters published by Elsevier. Subjects include physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and humanities. All abstracts are available, but only subscribed content is full text.
- Engineering Source This link opens in a new window
Engineering Source is intended for researchers across all engineering disciplines, including biomedical, civil, electrical, mechanical, environmental and software. It includes more than 1500 full-text engineering journals, magazines and trade publications, plus books, conference papers and more.
- OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online access to journals purchased by OhioLINK for member libraries. - OhioLINK Electronic Book Center This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly and reference electronic books purchased by Ohio academic libraries
