Books
Conflict in the Holy Land by
With more than 250 cross-referenced entries covering every aspect of conflict in the Holy Land, this illuminating book will help students understand the volatile history of Palestine and Israel and its impact on the rest of the world.Palestine is considered a sacred land by Christians, Jews, and Muslims. This has contributed to the violence that has ravaged the Holy Land throughout its long history. This A-Z reference work, which defines the Holy Land as historic Palestine (the combined territories of Israel, the West Bank, and the Gaza Strip), covers such ancient conflicts as Egypt's rule over Canaan, the reign of King David, and the Jewish Revolts against the Roman Empire. In addition, the title includes detailed entries on such medieval conflicts as the Crusades and such contemporary conflicts as the Arab-Israeli wars.The reference begins with an introduction that provides readers with the necessary context to understand the region's bloody history and a comprehensive chronology that will help students construct a more complete picture of conflict in the Holy Land. Then come hundreds of key entries on the events, individuals, groups, places, and ideologies that have played an important role in the strife there. The title concludes with an expansive bibliography that will aid students looking to do more research on the topic and a thorough index.
ISBN: 9781440867477Publication Date: 2020-02-07
The Challenges of Resolving the Israeli-Palestinian Dispute by
This book explains why the Israeli-Palestinian dispute is so difficult to resolve by showing that it consists of multiple distinct conflicts. Because these tend to be conflated into a single conflict, attempts at peace have not worked. Underpinned by conflict theory, observations of those involved and analyses of polling data, the book argues that peace will not be possible until each of the dispute's distinct conflicts are managed. Early chapters establish a theoretical framework to explain and define the different conflicts. This framework is then applied to the history of the dispute. The actions and perceptions of Israelis and Palestinians make sense when viewed through this framework. The Oslo peace process is examined in detail to explain how and why each side's expectations were not met. Ultimately, lessons in ways to build a future viable peace are drawn from the failures of the past.
ISBN: 9783030631840Publication Date: 2021-01-03
Whose Holy Land? by
This book explains the historical roots of the conflict between Jews and Arabs, which has lost none of its explosiveness to the present day, in a comprehensive and easy-to-understand manner. The question of who owns the Holy Land is more relevant today than ever. The debates on this topic are often characterized by ignorance and strong emotions, while partiality and power interests still obscure the view on the political situation in the Middle East. Shaking up old myths and prejudices, this book presents an overall historical as well as political analysis of the Jewish, Christian, and Muslim structures, actors, and actions from the very beginning to this very day, as well as a topical analysis. It combines history with theology and political science. Thus, the book is a must-read for scholars and students of political science, history, and international relations, as well as policy-makers, interested in a better understanding of the historical background and current political situation in the Middle East.
ISBN: 9783030742850Publication Date: 2021-10-16
Antisemitism, Islamophobia and the Politics of Definition by
This book, the first to explore the politics of definitions from an interdisciplinary perspective, encourages readers to reconsider the value and limits of definitions in confronting antisemitism and Islamophobia. In recent years, definitions of antisemitism and Islamophobia have become central to the struggle to combat the hostility, harassment and discrimination experienced by Jews and Muslims. Yet these definitions have also provoked fierce controversy: critics have questioned whether they are fit for purpose, or have criticised them as unwelcome attempts to restrict freedom of expression. In this edited collection, historians, social scientists and philosophers reflect on definitions of antisemitism and Islamophobia in both the past and the present. Its contributors investigate the different historical contexts which have shaped definitions and examine their different political purposes and meanings, as well as addressing contemporary debates, and identifying ways for us to move beyond our current impasse. This book therefore provides a broad and new perspective from which to comprehend present day minority politics.
ISBN: 9783031162657Publication Date: 2023-06-06
- Subject Search: Arab Israeli Conflictcatalog search limited to print and electronic books, sorted to display most recent first
- Subject Search: Israel -- Politics and Governmentcatalog search limited to print and electronic books, sorted to display most recent first
- Subject Search: Palestine -- Politics and Governmentcatalog search limited to print and electronic books, sorted to display most recent first
- Bibliography of Selected ReadingsThis bibliography of selected readings was prepared for the Current World Events Discussion Series of the American Library Association’s Social Responsibilities Round Table in November 2023.
Databases and Journals
- Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new window
A specialized database offering access to scholarly literature in theology and religious studies, including journal articles, essays, and book reviews. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
- International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Access literature in political science, including journal articles, books, and conference papers, supporting research on international relations and political theory. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
- International Security & Counter Terrorism Center This link opens in a new window
Access literature and reports on international security and counterterrorism, including research, policy analysis, and case studies to support strategic studies. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
- Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
A database offering scholarly literature on the Middle East and Central Asia, including articles, books, and reports covering history, culture, politics, and social issues. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
- Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly articles, journals, and resources in religion and philosophy, covering various faiths, beliefs, and philosophical theories for research and study. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
