Scholarly Articles - Following the Conversation
Academic journals and scholarly articles typically represent the reporting of the most current research in a given field. Whereas books may represent the amassed knowledge on a given subject, they often suffer from long publication times, and by the time they're published and distributed, there is often new research and knowledge in that field. For the most up-to-date look at your subject, look for scholarly articles in an academic database!
Where to Find Research Articles: Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary resource that includes journals, magazines, books, reports and proceedings. Contains over 10,000 titles, some coverage from 1880s to the present.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This collection is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It includes more than five million records and access to more than 2200 journals. Coverage begins in 1972.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of over 12 million full-text articles, books, images (additional resources now included from Artstor), and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Limited recent content.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. This includes full-text journals, books and other published humanities sources from around the world.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text includes full text for more than 300 sociology journals dating back to 1908. It also includes full text for more than 700 books and 6,000 conference papers. Abstracts for more than 800 journals are available back to 1895.
- Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journals & e-books published by Springer in science, technology, and medicine, as well as social sciences and humanities, & business and economics.
- UDiscover This link opens in a new window
A search tool that lets you retrieve all types of research sources with one search. If you're looking for a variety of sources on your topic, or you're just getting started, UDiscover can help you access more information at once than ever before. It has a Google-like relevancy ranking, but helps you locate scholarly resources.
- ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
This is the repository industry standards and technical information produced by ASTM International. Content includes books, articles, technical papers, and conference proceedings.
- CAS SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Chemical Abstracts literature from 1902 to the present. For UD students, staff & faculty only. UDRI employees are not eligible to use this database. New Users must register for an account with their UD email address.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Providing statistical data for over 170 industries in 50 countries.
- SPORTDiscus w/Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full text provides access to more than 200 full-text sports medicine journals. Coverage for some journals dates to 1981.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds. It includes almost 600,000 full-text links for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Covers over 35 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals back to 1946, with links to full text articles and other related resources.
