Find It!
Sometimes a search result may not provide you direct access to an article. Click on the Find It! icon to see if/where the article is available.
If an article is available online, you will see a link/icon on the top, left side of the screen under the phrase: "Get Full Text." Click on the link/icon. A new tab will open to the service hosting the article, where you will find a PDF link.
If an article is not immediately available in print or online, you will see the message "Request this title from another library via Interlibrary Loan." You may order an article through interlibrary loan by selecting the link. A new tab will open to UD's Interlibrary Loan page. Follow the directions to login and request the article.
Scholarly Articles - Following the Conversation
Academic journals and scholarly articles typically represent the reporting of the most current research in a given field. Whereas books may represent the amassed knowledge on a given subject, they often suffer from long publication times, and by the time they're published and distributed, there is often new research and knowledge in that field. For the most up-to-date look at your subject, look for scholarly articles in an academic database!
Recommended Databases
University of Dayton students, faculty and staff can access most electronic resources on or off-campus. For off-campus access, use your UD Porches username and password to authenticate.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary resource that includes journals, magazines, books, reports and proceedings. Contains over 10,000 titles, some coverage from 1880s to the present.
- Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 2500 indexed journals. Content includes articles, essays from books, & book reviews on topics like Biblical studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of over 12 million full-text articles, books, images (additional resources now included from Artstor), and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Limited recent content.
- New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A product of a partnership between Atla and Boston College, this database is a research and bibliographic aid for religion and theology scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. More than 1100 journals are indexed.
- Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A product of a partnership between Atla and the Catholic Biblical Association, this database features indexing and abstracts for religion and theology journal articles, monographs, multi-author works and software related to Old Testament studies. Covers an array of subjects including antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology and philology.
- Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Religion & Philosophy Collection is a full-text database for theology and philosophy research. It includes access to more than 100 full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language.
- UDiscover This link opens in a new window
A search tool that lets you retrieve all types of research sources with one search. If you're looking for a variety of sources on your topic, or you're just getting started, UDiscover can help you access more information at once than ever before. It has a Google-like relevancy ranking, but helps you locate scholarly resources.
