Finding Books - A Deeper Dive into your Topic
After you've read a high-level overview of your topic in an encyclopedia, you can use the keywords you found to locate books and ebooks that take a more in-depth, thorough look at that topic. Whereas encyclopedias must cover a large variety of subjects, scholarly books tend to have a very narrow focus, allowing the authors to provide a more nuanced and precise take on a subject. Especially in fields that do not change rapidly, they may be where experts publish their authoritative research, comprised of many years of study and writing.
Scholarly books are not written like popular novels, where to understand the fifth chapter, you need to have read the first through fourth chapters. When reading a scholarly book, you'll notice that some sections may be more relevant to your studies than others. When working with this kind of text, it's OK to jump around or narrow your focus to one or two chapters that specifically address your research.
In addition, books can be great places to seek out bibliographies and reference lists! Much like in encyclopedias, the experts writing the book are pulling their information from a variety of sources, which can be very valuable when becoming an expert, yourself!
Search the Library Catalog
Subject Headings
Suggested Subject Headings
Good and evil -- Biblical teaching.
Good and evil -- Religious aspects.
Good and evil -- Religious aspects -- Christianity.
Good and evil -- Religious aspects -- Hinduism.
Good and evil -- Religious aspects -- Islam.
Good and evil -- Religious aspects -- Judaism.
Abortion -- Moral and ethical aspects
Euthanasia -- Moral and ethical aspects
Euthanasia -- Religious aspects
Capital punishment -- Moral and ethical aspects
Capital punishment -- Religious aspects
Books from the Catalog
Abortion from the Religious and Moral Perspective: by ISBN: 0313314020Publication Date: 2003-03-30For approximately three decades, the abortion debate has polarized America. Views range from the extreme conservative position that all abortions are morally objectionable to the extreme liberal position that abortion throughout all nine months of pregnancy is acceptable. In the middle are those who advocate laws limiting the number of valid reasons for abortion. This comprehensive volume includes bibliographic citations that address the moral and religious aspects of abortion. It covers such topics as the various arguments both for and against abortion, the status of the fetus, and overviews of several religions' stances on abortion. Citations also include references on how Christianity has influenced abortion politics and law, discussions of Operation Rescue, and official statements on abortion by the Catholic Church and several Protestant denominations. Researchers, as well as anyone interested in the moral and religious elements of abortion, will find this resource invaluable. It covers the literature on abortion and religion found in books, essays, journal articles, academic dissertations and Web sites. And, unlike many of the available bibliographies, this one focuses only on the religious and moral issues, therefore providing greater depth on those two issues within one work.- The Churches Speak on -- Euthanasia: Official Statements from Religious Bodies and Ecumenical Organizations byISBN: 0810376482Publication Date: 1991-02-01
