Find It!
Sometimes a search result may not provide you direct access to an article. Click on the Find It! icon to see if/where the article is available.
If an article is available online, you will see a link/icon on the top, left side of the screen under the phrase: "Get Full Text." Click on the link/icon. A new tab will open to the service hosting the article, where you will find a PDF link.
If an article is not immediately available in print or online, you will see the message "Request this title from another library via Interlibrary Loan." You may order an article through interlibrary loan by selecting the link. A new tab will open to UD's Interlibrary Loan page. Follow the directions to login and request the article.
Recommended Databases
University Libraries licenses electronic library resources from scholarly publishers and academic content providers on behalf of current University of Dayton faculty, staff, students, and other authorized users. Usage is governed by U.S. copyright law and by specific license agreements that dictate how and by whom they may be used. We encourage responsible use of these resources for research and educational purposes.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
This searchable legal research collection includes the Law Journal Library, providing comprehensive coverage. HeinOnline includes Congressional Research Services reports and legislative histories. Use case name or citation to search for articles related to your case, or search for issue and topic. - Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
A source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world, this collection includes law journals, documents, and case studies.
Search by issues and topics, not by case name or citation.
- UDiscover This link opens in a new window
A search tool that lets you retrieve all types of research sources with one search. If your legal issue crosses a variety of disciplines, you might want to consider this but will need to be more precise in your search strategies.
Recommend Websites
- Legal Information InstituteHoused at Cornell Law School, The Legal Information Institute publishes information with a goal to make legal information more findable and understandable for general audiences.
- SCOTUSblogTypically includes coverage of major merits case before the court at least three times: before argument, after argument and after the decision, and also includes broader analytical pieces.
- LawfareLawfare is a non-profit multimedia publication that provides non-partisan, timely analysis of legal and policy issues. They strive for "academic-level depth with magazine-level readability at the pace of news."
- Just SecurityJust Security is an online forum for the rigorous analysis of security, democracy, foreign policy, and rights. Their goal is "to promote principled and pragmatic solutions to problems confronting decision-makers in the United States and abroad."
