Librarian
Selecting and Using Resources
This assignment requires the use of three sources. In order to find sources that were written accessibly for large audiences, use the recommended resources below.
The two databases recommended below both include the option to filter by Lexile range. Publications with a higher Lexile score may use more advanced language and vocabulary. Per Professor Colborn's recommendation, filtering results to exclude publications with a Lexile score of 1000+ may provide you with more readable results.
Remember: For your assignment you must send your article links to Professor Colborn. In order to ensure that Professor Colborn is able to access your articles, you must send her the permalink (also known as the permanent link, persistent link, stable url, etc.). The permalink can be found on the right side of the item record, near the bottom of the "Tools" list.
Recommended Resource
- MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window
A full-text reference database of popular magazines and e-books covering many subjects, including history, science and health. It also includes thousands of full-text primary source documents and videos from the Associated Press. Content is targeted for high school students. - MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. It also includes an extensive image collection of more than 2 million photos, maps and flags.
- TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
Teachers, librarians and student researchers can use this database to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom. Access provided to nearly 100,000 full text articles. - Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national, and local news sources. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
