Librarian
Article Databases
Article Databases
Studying sustainable practices means doing research in a lot of different fields. For example, if you are researching opinions regarding sustainable practices you may use a social science database but if you are researching the impact of a pollutant you may utilize a science database. Therefore, researching issues regarding sustainability often requires utilizing many different resources. That said, Web of Science and UDiscover search across many of these resources and can be a great place to start your research.
Below is a list of resources which has been divided into disciplines.
General Databases
- UDiscover This link opens in a new window
A search tool that lets you retrieve all types of research sources with one search. If you're looking for a variety of sources on your topic, or you're just getting started, UDiscover can help you access more information at once than ever before. It has a Google-like relevancy ranking, but helps you locate scholarly resources.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A citation database with multidisciplinary coverage in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Contains over 150 million records. Includes international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.
- JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new window
Discover a wide range of journals, ebooks, and more than 5,400 Open Access research reports in the field of sustainability. The subjects of resilience and sustainability are explored broadly, covering research on environmental stresses and their impact on society.
Agricultural Databases
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Containing bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, AGRICOLA provides millions of citations relating to the field of agriculture. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials and technical reports to support agricultural research. - Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus is a database of full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from essential biology and agricultural research journals. It is a valuable tool for those studying the agricultural industry, veterinary science, wildlife management and environmental science. The resources include over 53 full-text journals.
See Also:
Pastoralism: Research, Policy and Practice - A peer-reviewed open access journal published under the brand SpringerOpen. It is an interdisciplinary journal on extensive livestock production systems throughout the world. The journal investigates pastoralism from a variety of disciplinary perspectives across the biophysical, social and economic sciences.
Sustainability: Science, Practice and Policy - A peer-reviewed open access journal provided by Taylor & Francis. The journal aims to advance understanding about sustainability transformations of societal systems and seeks to catalyze social innovations that enable these transitions.
Ecology and Society - A open access peer-reviewed journal devoted to integrative science for resilience and sustainability.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of interdisciplinary environmental journals including ecology, energy, natural resources, & pollution. Contains over 2,000,000 records from more than 1,900 titles going back to the 1940s. Full text for more than 750 journals.
Biology, Chemistry, and Life Sciences Databases
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE is a free research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes more than 15,000 full-text records on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Biosis Previews This link opens in a new windowThis resource indexes content from Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM. Backfiles date back to 1926 and include access to more than 5300 journals.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Covers over 35 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals back to 1946, with links to full text articles and other related resources.
- CAS SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Chemical Abstracts literature from 1902 to the present. For UD students, staff & faculty only. UDRI employees are not eligible to use this database. New Users must register for an account with their UD email address.
See Also
PloS One Biology Collection - A collection of open access research of various degrees of
Economics and Business Databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals from the fields of marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Plus company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses, country economic reports, financial data, and investment reports.
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit is an academic literature abstracting database service published by the American Economic Association. The service focuses on literature in the field of economics. EconLit covers articles and other materials dating back to 1969.
- Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to both Gale's Brands & Their Companies and Ward's Business Directory of US Private & Public Companies. The former lists manufacturers and distributors from small businesses to large corporations, from both the public and private sectors. Provides complete coverage of U.S. consumer brands; manufacturers, importers and distributors; and companies that are out of business, as well as brands that are no longer in production or are now considered generic. The latter profiles over 100,000 U.S. companies, 90 percent of which are private. Intended for librarians, executives, students, analysts, marketers, and other professionals who require current company and industry profiles.
See Also:
The World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO) Worldwide NGO Directory - An international organization uniting NGOs worldwide
Engineering and Urban Planning Databases
- ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
This database includes access to more than 145,000 pieces of civil engineering research and practical publications. This includes journals, magazines, ebooks, conference proceedings, and standards produced by the American Society of Civil Engineers. - ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to around 40 ASME-supported journals and publications dating back to 1880.
- Engineering Source This link opens in a new window
Engineering Source is intended for researchers across all engineering disciplines, including biomedical, civil, electrical, mechanical, environmental and software. It includes more than 1500 full-text engineering journals, magazines and trade publications, plus books, conference papers and more.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
This resource includes IEEE conference papers, journals, books, and technical standards on covering electrical engineering, computer science and electronics research from 1988 to the present. All content published since 1988 available in full text.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of interdisciplinary environmental journals including ecology, energy, natural resources, & pollution. Contains over 2,000,000 records from more than 1,900 titles going back to the 1940s. Full text for more than 750 journals.
(Environmental) Law Databases
- Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources, 1600-1970 This link opens in a new window
This collection comprises over 650 titles spread across nearly 2,000 volumes, all totaling nearly 1.4 million pages. It includes regulations, session laws, journals, and codes and commentaries. Researchers will find works related to the administration of justice, civil procedure, commercial law, criminal law and procedure, customary law, forestry and agricultural law, maritime law and military law, among others.
See also:
Ecolex Environmental Law Resources - Includes information on treaties, international soft-law and other non-binding policy and technical guidance documents, national legislation, judicial decisions, and law and policy literature.
Geology and Earth Sciences Databases
- GeoRef This link opens in a new window
GeoRef contains more than 3500 indexed journals covering a wide spectrum of geoscience literature. Other records featured within the database include indexed books, maps, government reports, conference papers, theses and dissertations. Coverage within the database includes the geology of North America from 1666 to the present, as well as global coverage dating back to 1933.
Social Sciences Databases
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text includes full text for more than 300 sociology journals dating back to 1908. It also includes full text for more than 700 books and 6,000 conference papers. Abstracts for more than 800 journals are available back to 1895.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary resource that includes journals, magazines, books, reports and proceedings. Contains over 10,000 titles, some coverage from 1880s to the present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of over 12 million full-text articles, books, images (additional resources now included from Artstor), and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Limited recent content.
