Find It!
Sometimes a search result may not provide you direct access to an article. Click on the Find It! icon to see if/where the article is available.
If an article is available online, you will see a link/icon on the top, left side of the screen under the phrase: "Get Full Text." Click on the link/icon. A new tab will open to the service hosting the article, where you will find a PDF link.
If an article is not immediately available in print or online, you will see the message "Request this title from another library via Interlibrary Loan." You may order an article through interlibrary loan by selecting the link. A new tab will open to UD's Interlibrary Loan page. Follow the directions to login and request the article.
Medical Subject Headings
- MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) databaseNLM (PubMed creator's) controlled vocabulary thesaurus used for indexing PubMed citations.
MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) interface with PubMed to find research articles "tagged" with specific subjects. Try simple keywords here such as:
- community dentistry
- rural health
- vaccine hesitancy
Top Four Recommended Databases
University of Dayton students, faculty and staff can access most electronic resources on or off-campus. For off-campus access, use your UD Porches username and password to authenticate.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers English-language journals in the fields of nursing and allied health. Full-text access provided to more than 270 journals.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Covers over 35 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals back to 1946, with links to full text articles and other related resources.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more - Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 70 consumer health magazines. Includes medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Additional Subject-Specific Databases
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This collection is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It includes more than five million records and access to more than 2200 journals. Coverage begins in 1972.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A citation database with multidisciplinary coverage in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Contains over 150 million records. Includes international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text includes full text for more than 300 sociology journals dating back to 1908. It also includes full text for more than 700 books and 6,000 conference papers. Abstracts for more than 800 journals are available back to 1895.
