Library Guides: Geology and Environmental Geosciences: Find Articles

Databases

University of Dayton students, faculty and staff can access most electronic resources on or off-campus. For off-campus access, use your UD Porches username and password to authenticate.

Academic Search Complete
A vast collection of full-text academic journals, magazines, and other resources across multiple disciplines, supporting comprehensive research needs. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
This multidisciplinary resource includes full-text, peer-reviewed journals, periodicals and magazines. Also included are more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press, including footage from 1930-present. This database offers indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings dating as far back as 1865, with the majority of titles in searchable PDF format.
GeoRef
Access literature in geosciences, including articles, maps, and reports, covering topics like geology, paleontology, and environmental science. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
Produced by the American Geosciences Institute, GeoRef contains bibliographic records for geosciences literature from around the world. GeoRef contains 3,500 indexed journals covering a wide spectrum of geoscience literature and 3.8 million books, maps, government reports, conference papers, theses, and dissertations, covering the geology of North America from 1666 to the present, as well as global coverage dating back to 1933. Subjects include Economic Geology, Environmental & Engineering Geology, Geophysics, Hydrology, Paleontology, Petrology, Marine geology & Oceanography, and Mineralogy.
Environment Complete
Scholarly articles, reports, and other resources in environmental science, covering topics such as ecology, conservation, and sustainability. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
This full-text database for environmental studies provides top environment journals and monographs and an environmental thesaurus. Topics covered include ecosystem ecology; energy; environmental law, policy, & technology; geography; marine & freshwater science; natural resources; pollution & waste management; renewable energy sources; the social impact of the environment; and urban planning.
GreenFILE
Access resources on environmental topics, including articles, reports, and government documents on sustainability, ecology, and environmental impact. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
This database provides an index of publications on the environmental impact of human activity. Subjects covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, recycling, renewable energy, and sustainable agriculture. GreenFile deals with connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines, such as agriculture, education, law, policy, health, and technology. It includes indexing, citations, and abstracts for scholarly journals, government sources, and general interest sources. A small amount of full-text content is included.
Web of Science
A citation database with coverage in the physical and social sciences. Contains 150 million records.
This database indexes leading scholarly journals, books, proceedings, reports, and other formats. Its major subject areas include sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Users may search Web of Science Core Collection or any of the following databases: BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, Grants Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Preprint Citation Index, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation index, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
AGU Journals
Peer-reviewed journals published by the American Geophysical Union, covering research in earth and space sciences, including geology, atmospheric science, and oceanography.
Developed by the American Geophysical Union, this database offers access to scientific research journals and books spanning a wide range of subjects. Journals include Community Science; Earth and Space Science; Geochemistry, Geophysics, Geosystems; Global Biogeochemical Cycles; Journal of Advances in Modeling Earth Systems (JAMES), Space Weather Quarterly; Tectonics; and many more. Books include Geophysical Monograph Series, AGU Reference Shelf, Antarctic Research Series, Earth Science Series, Field Trip Guidebooks, History of Geophysics, and many more. Special collections include Space Weather Events; Earth and Space Science is Essential for Society; The Three Major Hurricanes of 2017: Harvey, Irma, and Maria; Atmospheric Rivers; and more.