Recommended Databases
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth analysis of over 700 U.S. industries at the national and state level. Global industry reports are particularly strong in the manufacturing sector.
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Updated daily. Provides a comprehensive, professional source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies. Full text coverage includes stock, bond, and mutual fund guides and reports; earnings and dividends reports; comprehensive company information; industry surveys for 52 major U.S. industries; and directories of companies, executives and security dealers
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Providing statistical data for over 170 industries in 50 countries.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Company data for U.S. and international public and private companies. Includes industry reports for North America, Asia/Pacific, Europe and Latin America by country and region; U.S. executive profiles; equity research reports; and more.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals from the fields of marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Plus company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses, country economic reports, financial data, and investment reports.
NAICS and SIC Codes
Many business databases can be searched by NAICS or SIC code. Searching with these codes can help narrow in on sources about a particular industry.
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. The NAICS system was meant to relace an older system called SIC (Standard Industrial Classification).
To identify a NAICS code, search for an industry or company in one of these sources:
- NAICS SearchSearch for an industry using a keyword or 2-6 digit code.
- SIC ManualBrowse or search for an industry using a keyword or code.
- Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Directory information for over 80 million businesses in the U.S. and Canada, customizable by type of business, geographic location, size of business, and sales. Data also available on more than 270 million consumers.
- Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to both Gale's Brands & Their Companies and Ward's Business Directory of US Private & Public Companies. The former lists manufacturers and distributors from small businesses to large corporations, from both the public and private sectors. Provides complete coverage of U.S. consumer brands; manufacturers, importers and distributors; and companies that are out of business, as well as brands that are no longer in production or are now considered generic. The latter profiles over 100,000 U.S. companies, 90 percent of which are private. Intended for librarians, executives, students, analysts, marketers, and other professionals who require current company and industry profiles.
