HSS 448

• antitrust law

  • "The purpose of antitrust legislation is to allow fair competition, with goods and services available to consumers at competitive prices."
     
  • Mueller, T. S. (2011). Antitrust Laws and Sports. In L. E. Swayne & M. Dodds (Eds.), Encyclopedia of Sports Management and Marketing (Vol. 1, pp. 66-69). SAGE Reference. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX1959600039/GVRL?u=dayt72472&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=1b5fde60

• constitutional law

  • "Constitutional law is the written text of the state and federal constitutions. It includes the body of judicial precedent that has gradually developed through a process in which courts interpret, apply, and explain the meaning of particular constitutional provisions and principles during a legal proceeding."
     
  • Constitutional Law. (2010). In D. Batten (Ed.), Gale Encyclopedia of American Law (3rd ed., Vol. 3, pp. 133-143). Gale. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX1337701083/GVRL?u=dayt72472&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=c854b835

• contract law

  • "A contract is an agreement between two parties that creates an obligation to do or refrain from doing a particular thing. The purpose of a contract is to establish the terms of the agreement by which the parties have fixed their rights and duties."
     
  • Contracts. (2013). In D. Batten (Ed.), Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law (3rd ed., Vol. 1, pp. 255-261). Gale. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX2760300059/GVRL?u=dayt72472&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=f6b8ff9b

• employment law

  • "Employment law is the body of law that governs the employer-employee relationship, including individual employment contracts, the application of tort and contract doctrines, and a large group of statutory regulations on issues such as the right to organize and negotiate collective bargaining agreements, protection from discrimination, wages and hours, and health and safety."
     
  • Employment Law. (2010). In D. Batten (Ed.), Gale Encyclopedia of American Law (3rd ed., Vol. 4, pp. 144-149). Gale. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX1337701583/GVRL?u=dayt72472&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=ffce393b
  • Maxcy, J. (2011). Labor Law. In L. E. Swayne & M. Dodds (Eds.), Encyclopedia of Sports Management and Marketing (Vol. 2, pp. 733-734). SAGE Reference. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX1959600391/GVRL?u=dayt72472&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=fac41129

• intellectual property

  • "According to the World Intellectual Property Organization, intellectual property involves creations of the mind: inventions, literary and artistic works, and symbols, names, images, and designs used in commerce."
     
  • Evans, S. B., & Evans, J. R. (2011). Intellectual Property. In L. E. Swayne & M. Dodds (Eds.), Encyclopedia of Sports Management and Marketing (Vol. 2, pp. 693-694). SAGE Reference. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX1959600371/GVRL?u=dayt72472&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=d67d30a3
  • Intellectual Property. (2010). In D. Batten (Ed.), Gale Encyclopedia of American Law (3rd ed., Vol. 5, pp. 459-464). Gale. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX1337702337/GVRL?u=dayt72472&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=383570e9

• products liability

  • "Product liability is the responsibility of a manufacturer or vendor of goods to compensate for injury caused by defective merchandise that it has provided for sale."
     
  • Product Liability. (2010). In D. Batten (Ed.), Gale Encyclopedia of American Law (3rd ed., Vol. 8, pp. 142-148). Gale. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX1337703509/GVRL?u=dayt72472&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=e74f95da

• statutory law

  • "[Much] of American law is now statutory, that is, enacted by legislatures. Laws enacted by Congress govern such areas as criminal law, copyright law, patents and trademarks, securities regulation, environmental law, and much more. In some of these areas, the legislature has empowered an administrative agency to issue regulations that spell out how the statute is to be employed."
     
  • Solan, L. M. (2016). Statutes and Case Law. In S. Schechter, T. S. Vontz, T. A. Birkland, M. A. Graber, & J. J. Patrick (Eds.), American Governance (Vol. 5, pp. 132-134). Macmillan Reference USA. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3629100663/GVRL?u=dayt72472&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=07fcf9de

• title IX

  • "Title IX is a federal law that was adopted on June 23, 1972, as part of the Education Amendments of 1972. It states: No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance."
     
  • Yiamouyiannis, A. (2011). Title IX. In L. E. Swayne & M. Dodds (Eds.), Encyclopedia of Sports Management and Marketing (Vol. 4, pp. 1570-1575). SAGE Reference. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX1959600796/GVRL?u=dayt72472&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=d0a42649

• tort law

  • "Tort law refers to a body of rights, obligations, and remedies that is applied by courts in civil proceedings to provide relief for persons who have suffered harm from the wrongful acts of others."
     
  • Curtis, T. (2011). Tort Issues in Sports. In L. E. Swayne & M. Dodds (Eds.), Encyclopedia of Sports Management and Marketing (Vol. 4, pp. 1581-1582). SAGE Reference. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX1959600801/GVRL?u=dayt72472&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=f725eca7
  • Tort Law. (2010). In D. Batten (Ed.), Gale Encyclopedia of American Law (3rd ed., Vol. 10, pp. 58-64). Gale. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX1337704371/GVRL?u=dayt72472&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=4a6b1da1

Categories adapted from Case Studies in Sport Law.