Library Guides: Dialogue Resources: Recommended Databases

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of full-text academic journals, magazines, and other resources across multiple disciplines, supporting comprehensive research needs. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
This multidisciplinary resource includes full-text, peer-reviewed journals, periodicals and magazines. Also included are more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press, including footage from 1930-present. This database offers indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings dating as far back as 1865, with the majority of titles in searchable PDF format.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles, journals, and reports in communication and media studies, covering various aspects of mass communication and related fields. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
This database provides coverage of scholarly literature on all aspects of communication studies, including journalism, mass media, discourse, speech, linguistics, communicative disorders, rhetoric, and advertising. It includes indexing and some full-text for books and conference proceedings. CMMC incorporates CommSearch, formerly produced by the National Communication Association, and Mass Media Articles Index, along with other journals to create a comprehensive research and reference resource for communication and mass media fields.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A sociology research database offering full-text access to journals, books, and conference papers, covering social behavior, relationships, and cultural studies. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
This database includes full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals and magazines with searchable cited references, providing users with a wealth of information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. It also includes full text for more than 700 books and 6,000 conference papers. Abstracts for more than 800 journals are available back to 1895. Further, extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included. SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
UDiscover This link opens in a new window
A search tool with a Google-like relevancy ranking to help you retrieve all types of scholarly research sources with one search. New look and functionality coming June 23.
This search tool lets you retrieve all types of research sources with one search, simultaneously searching the UD catalog, OhioLINK catalog, and many of the online resources available through the University Libraries, in addition to institutional repositories and open-access resources. With UDiscover, you can access millions of journal articles, e-books, dissertations, conference proceedings, newspaper articles, videos, and primary sources. If you're looking for a variety of sources on your topic, or you're just getting started, UDiscover can help you access more information at once than ever before. It has a Google-like relevancy ranking, but helps you locate scholarly resources.