Librarian
Heidi Gauder
Contact:
937-229-4259
Subjects: English Composition, English Literature, History, Humanities, Language, Literature, Music, Theatre
Research Guides
Resources
- BabelScoresContemporary scores, free during COVID-19.
- Chamber Music SocietyThe Chamber Music Society offers live-streaming of select events plus recordings of past events.
- Classical Music CommunicationsWorldwide live-streamed concert database.
- Kanopy MusicPerformances and documentaries.
- Live GigsVirtual performances by coronavirus-affected musicians.
- Metropolitan OperaMetropolitan Opera offers free past performances on their website every evening.
- Music Theory Examples by WomenA database of excerpts and complete musical compositions by women composers. The music is categorized by theoretical concept for use in music education.
- Open Music LibraryThis is an index of digital resources for the study of music with links to OA and subscription content. Users need to create an account in order to view content.
- Philharmonie de ParisVideos of past concerts by various ensembles, including the Orchestre de Paris, La Chambre Philharmonique de Paris, Chamber Orchestra of Europe and others.
- SmartMusicWeb-based suite of music education tools that support efficient practice, helping musicians to develop and grow. Subscription required, free through June 30, 2020.
- Symphony SpotThe League of American Orchestras has created this one-stop hub of orchestra livestreams, videos, and digital learning events from more than 100 members and friends of the League. The hub features various experiences, from performances of Beethoven’s 9th Symphony by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and the Arkansas Symphony Orchestra’s Bedtime with Bach video series to the Boston Symphony Orchestra’s BSO Homeschool initiative featuring lesson plans, instrument demonstrations, and virtual lessons.
- Teaching Music HistoryPedagogy study group of the American Musicological Society including lesson plans and course design kits.
Databases
- African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
Brings together 50,000 pages of text, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. Materials date before 1910 up to the present day. - Classical Music in Video This link opens in a new window
Video of classical music performances and masterclasses. Contains all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances, chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances. Coverage of musical time periods spans Medieval to the 21st century, with recordings from the 1950s to the present. - Classical Music Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Classical Music Reference Library brings together a variety of reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music - Classical Scores Library This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides in-copyright digital scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of diverse and lesser-known contemporary works. This five-volume collection encompasses all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century and includes full, study, piano, and vocal scores.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window
The digital version of the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music incorporating all 10 volumes of the original print edition. Browsable by places, cultural groups, subjects, instruments, and genres. - IPA Source This link opens in a new window
IPA Source is designed to assist singers with foreign language diction and communication by providing IPA transcriptions and literal translations. The collection includes more than 15,000 arias, art songs and liturgical texts in Italian, French, German, English, Spanish and Latin. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of over 12 million full-text articles, books, images (additional resources now included from Artstor), and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Limited recent content.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 170,000 CDs with more than 2.7 million tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Categories include not only classical forms but jazz, world, Chinese and pop/rock. - Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains video of more than 500 hours of important opera performances. The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, & performance classes. - Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Each Oxford Handbook offers an authoritative and state-of-the-art survey of current thinking and research. Specially commissioned essays from leading international figures in the discipline give critical examination of the progress and direction of debates, providing scholars and graduate students with compelling new perspectives. There are more than 1,000 Oxford Handbooks on a wide range of subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and law. - Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
An extensive reference resource for music that includes Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. Content is browsable by topic, instrument, era, geography and occupation. - RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature This link opens in a new window
Produced by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, this music bibliography features citations, abstracts, and subject indexing. It facilitates both focused research and browsing for readers of all levels from classical to popular music, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, from elementary music education to advanced music theory. Includes indexing of more than 2400 journals.
