Erving E. Beauregard PapersRichard P. Benedum PapersGeorge C. Biersack PapersJulien M. Christensen PapersRaymond M. Herbenick PapersBro. Elmer C. Lackner PapersKenneth C. Schraut PapersEileen L. Sears PapersBro. William J. Wohlleben Papers
Teaching at UD (1920-1956)Research at UD (1956-present)
This is the "Home" page of the "Faculty Papers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Faculty Papers   Tags: f  

Last Updated: Oct 22, 2013 URL: http://libguides.udayton.edu/faculty_papers Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the Faculty Papers Resource Guide!

This guide highlights the faculty papers in the University Archives. More information about the collections can be found in the online finding aids or by visiting the University Archives in Albert Emanuel Hall.

What are faculty papers?

Faculty papers are private collections that complement the official record of the University history, policies, and activities. They comprise materials created or accumulated during a faculty member’s career, encompassing teaching, scholarship, and service to the University and to his or her profession. Faculty papers may also contain personal papers conveying biographical information about the faculty member’s childhood, education, family, and civic activities.

Why are they important?

Faculty collections enhance the existing records of the University’s community, culture, and institutional and administrative history. Additionally, they document achievements in faculty research and scholarship; teaching, the classroom, and faculty-student engagement; and faculty service to the University and the community beyond campus. Faculty papers also relate to broader, non-institutional topics such as higher education, Catholic and Marianist education, American intellectual life, subject domains (e.g., philosophy), and biographies.

 

Highlights from the Photo Collections

 

Contact the University Archives

Hours: Monday-Friday
8:30-12:00 and 1:00-4:30

For inquiries or to schedule a research appointment, email or call 937-229-4256.

212 Albert Emanuel Hall


 

About the University Archives

The University of Dayton Archives was established in 1973 for the purpose of preserving the University's history. The collection includes materials dating from 1850, when St. Mary's Institute was founded as a grammar school for boys, to the present. It chronicles the University's development into a well-known Catholic and Marianist institution of higher learning.

In addition to the official records of UD, the University Archives has special archival collections relating to UD faculty and alumni. These collections cover various topics, including sports, the arts, politics, television broadcasting, and UD history, among others.

 

Featured events

  • Thursday, Mar 17, 2011 to Sunday, Apr 24, 2011: Faculty Legacies Exhibit
    An exhibit that highlights teaching and research at UD through the faculty papers in the University Archives. Visit the exhibit at Roesch Library in the first floor gallery.
  • Thursday, Mar 24, 2011: Faculty Legacies Panel Discussion and Reception
    An event about documenting faculty work in the University Archives. The program includes a presentation by Rachel DeHart, university archivist, and a panel discussion with Dr. Joseph Watras, Dr. Don Polzella, and Dr. Mary Brown. A reception follows.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip