Faculty Papers: Home

Welcome to the Faculty Papers Resource Guide!

This guide highlights the faculty papers in the University Archives. More information about the collections can be found in Guides to Collections or by visiting the University Archives in Albert Emanuel Hall.

What are faculty papers?

Faculty papers are private collections that complement the official record of the University history, policies, and activities. They comprise materials created or accumulated during a faculty member’s career, encompassing teaching, scholarship, and service to the University and to his or her profession. Faculty papers may also contain personal papers conveying biographical information about the faculty member’s childhood, education, family, and civic activities.

Why are they important?

Faculty collections enhance the existing records of the University’s community, culture, and institutional and administrative history. Additionally, they document achievements in faculty research and scholarship; teaching, the classroom, and faculty-student engagement; and faculty service to the University and the community beyond campus. Faculty papers also relate to broader, non-institutional topics such as higher education, Catholic and Marianist education, American intellectual life, subject domains (e.g., philosophy), and biographies.

The University of Dayton Archives was established in 1973 for the purpose of preserving the University's history. The collection includes materials dating from 1850, when St. Mary's Institute was founded as a grammar school for boys, to the present. It chronicles the University's development into a well-known Catholic and Marianist institution of higher learning.

In addition to the official records of UD, the University Archives has special archival collections relating to UD faculty and alumni. These collections cover various topics, including sports, the arts, politics, television broadcasting, and UD history, among others.

Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30 - 4:00

For inquiries or to schedule a research appointment, email (archives@udayton.edu) or call 937-229-4256.

We are located on the second floor of Albert Emanuel Hall in room 211.