General Reference Databases
Reference databases are collections of encyclopedia articles, facts, statistics, and other types of background information useful for understanding and refining a topic. Tools in this section provide short articles on many topics and provide key vocabulary, context, and citations for further reading.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Current, peer-reviewed research from more than 25 encylcopedias. This includes the Encyclopedia of Social Work and the Oxford Classical Dictionary.
- Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas written by experts in the field. Browsable subject areas include Arts & Humanities, Law, Medicine & Health, Science & Mathematics, and Social Sciences.
- World Book Advanced This link opens in a new window
Contains full text World Book Encyclopedia articles. Text in English, French & Spanish. Also contains primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, images, audio, & video.
Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Encyclopedias are reference works that provide summaries of knowledge. Handbooks are reference works providing concise factual information on a specific subject. The items in this section are subject-specific; they focus on topics pertaining to ethical, philosophical, and social dimensions of technology. These resources are helpful for identifying key vocabulary, important background information, and important perspectives.
The Cambridge Handbook of Responsible Artificial Intelligence by ISBN: 9781009207898Publication Date: 2022
Oxford Handbook of Digital Ethics by
The Oxford Handbook of Digital Ethics offers a lively, authoritative, up-to-date exploration of pressing ethical issues in the digital world.
ISBN: 9780198857815Publication Date: 2024
Routledge Handbook of Digital Media and Communication by
A comprehensive, authoritative overview of the state of new media scholarship and its most important future directions that will shape and animate current debates. Topics cover social impacts of digital media, including information access, privacy, freedom, surveillance, security, algorithms, and misinformation.
ISBN: 9781315616551Publication Date: 2020
The Routledge Social Science Handbook of AI by
A comprehensive and accessible guide to the major topics and trends of research in the social sciences of artificial intelligence (AI), as well as surveying how the digital revolution - from supercomputers and social media to advanced automation and robotics - is transforming society, culture, politics and economy.
ISBN: 0429198531Publication Date: 2021
The SAGE International Encyclopedia of Mass Media and Society by ISBN: 9781483375533Publication Date: 2019-12-17
