Databases
- 19th Century English-Language Journals from the Far East This link opens in a new window
This collection provides researchers with six rare English-language journals, five of which were founded by Western missionaries in the Far East in the 19th century, covering a wide range of topics such as East-West communication, Christianity in China and other parts of Asia, and China’s political, economic, and cultural landscape. The collections cover journals starting in 1817 up to 1911.
- Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and people of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. It contains hundreds of thousands of records and coverage spanning over a century.
- Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Race Relations Abstracts includes abstracting for academic journals, books, periodicals and newspapers related to ethnic and racial studies.
- AAPI DataDemographic data and policy research on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders
Online Resources and Exhibits
- A Day in the Queer Life of Asian Pacific AmericaA Day in the Queer Life of Asian Pacific America (ADQLAPA) is a new digital exhibition by the Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center (APAC) documenting queer life in Asian American and Pacific Islander communities throughout the country.
- Densho Digital ArchivesThe Densho Archives contain primary sources that document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s, with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration. The archives are growing as Densho continues to record life histories and collect images and records. We provide these resources to students, teachers, researchers, and the general public for educational purposes.
- FANHS - Filipino American National History SocietySince 1987, FANHS has sponsored national conferences (later ratified as a biennial event) where community folks of all ages and from all walks of life gather to share and present research, network with other Filipino Americans, and honor those who have produced ground-breaking innovative work in the field of historical research and analysis.
- Filipino American Library CollectionThe Filipino American Library Collection consists of materials owned by the Filipino American Library in Historic Filipinotown that were transferred to the University of Southern California Special Collections in 2017.
- Korean American Digital ArchiveThe documentary record of the Korean experience in America remains dispersed and difficult to access. The Korean American Digital Archive brings more than 13,000 pages of documents, over 1,900 photographs, and about 180 sound files together in one searchable collection that documents the Korean American community during the period of resistance to Japanese rule in Korea and reveal the organizational and private experience of Koreans in America between 1903 and 1965.
- SAADA: South Asian American Digital ArchiveSAADA creates a more inclusive society by giving voice to South Asian Americans through documenting, preserving, and sharing stories that represent their unique and diverse experiences.
Organizations
- Asian/Pacific Americans Librarians AssociationAPALA, and AALC before it, were organized and founded by librarians of diverse Asian and Pacific ancestries committed to working together toward a common goal: to create an organization that would address the needs of Asian Pacific American librarians and those who serve Asian Pacific American communities.
- Empowering Pacific Islander Communities (EPIC)Advancing social justice by engaging Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander communities through culturally relevant advocacy, research, and leadership development.
- Asian Pacific American Heritage AssociationAsian Pacific American Heritage Association (APAHA) was formed in Houston in 1992 to “promote awareness and increase understanding of the Asian American and Pacific Islander cultures and its diversity through education and celebration,” focusing on the month of May, which is celebrated nationally as Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month and continuing throughout the year.
- National Council of Asian Pacific Americans (NCAPA)Founded in 1996, NCAPA is a coalition of 37 national Asian Pacific American organizations around the country. Based in Washington D.C., NCAPA serves to represent the interests of the greater Asian American (AA) and Native Hawaiian Pacific Islander (NHPI) communities and to provide a national voice for AA and NHPI issues.
- Southeast Asia Resource Action Center (SEARAC)SEARAC is a national civil rights organization that empowers Cambodian, Laotian, and Vietnamese American communities to create a socially just and equitable society. As representatives of the largest refugee community ever resettled in the United States, SEARAC stands together with other refugee communities, communities of color, and social justice movements in pursuit of social equity.
