Librarian
Topic Starters
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
An online library of hundreds of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including texts related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies.
- Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Source covers hundreds of topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice by ISBN: 9781461456902Publication Date: 2014-03-28Offering approximately 600 entries, this work provides unprecedented complete and systematic coverage of modern criminology and criminal justice, include the broad fields of related to criminology, such as sociology, law and certain areas of psychology.
Crime and Punishment in America by ISBN: 9781610699273Publication Date: 2016-12-05Covering some of the most hotly contested topics in crime and criminal justice, including proposed sentencing and prison reforms, controversial developments like Stand Your Ground laws, and Supreme Court decisions, this work supplies essential background, current data, and a range of viewpoints on these important issues.
Social History of Crime and Punishment in America by ISBN: 9781412988780Publication Date: 2012-01-01Covers the whole of the criminal justice system, from crimes, law enforcement and policing, to courts, corrections and human services.
Encyclopedia of Criminal Justice Ethics by ISBN: 9781483346588Publication Date: 2014-08-05Includes A to Z entries by experts in the field that explore the scope of ethical decision making and behaviors within the spheres of criminal justice systems, including policing, corrections, courts, forensic science, and policy analysis and research.
Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory by ISBN: 9781412959186Publication Date: 2010-09-23In addition to interpretations of long-established theories, it also offers essays on cutting-edge research as one might find in a handbook. And, like an unabridged dictionary, it provides concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures. Coverage will include: contexts and concepts in criminological theory the social construction of crime policy implications of theory diversity and intercultural contexts conflict theory rational choice theories conservative criminology feminist theory.
Encyclopedia of Social Deviance by ISBN: 9781483340463Publication Date: 2014-01-01Drawing contributions from across the social and behavioral sciences, including sociology, anthropology, criminology, politics, psychology, and religion, the Encyclopedia of Social Deviance introduces readers to the lively field of rule-making and rebellion that strikes at the core of what it means to be an individual living in a social world.
Encyclopedia of Community Corrections by ISBN: 9781412990844Publication Date: 2012-01-01Explores all aspects of community corrections, from its philosophical foundation to its current inception.
