Skip to main content
Responsive image
Libraries Subject Guides

Engineering

Repositories and Datasets

Datasets contain the pure data which is shared so as to promote the replicability of research. Such data takes many forms depending upon what type of research is being done. Datasets are sometimes difficult to locate because they can be stored in many different of locations including institutional repositories, disciplinary repositories, journal databases, within professional societies, on the author's personal web pages, etc. The availability of datasets vary widely. Some data is open source while other data is confidential. If you need help locating a dataset please contact the University of Dayton Roesch Library.

Repositories are established resources for scholars to share their datasets, articles, pre-prints (E.g. articles prior to publication), reports, and much more.

 

Finding Repositories and Datasets

List of open access disciplinary repositories - A comprehensive list of disciplinary repositories provided by Simmons University

University of Dayton eCommons - The institutional repository at the University of Dayton. Contains research, datasets, presentations, and much more.  

 

Quick List of Disciplinary Repositories by Subject  

 

Multidisciplinary repositories

arXiv - Hosted at Cornell University. ArXiv (pronounced "archive") is a very popular repository that provides open-access materials regarding physics, mathematics, computer science, engineering, and much more.

Data.gov - The U.S. Governments' open data multidisciplinary repository. 

Dryad - A popular repository which hosts a mix of scientific and medical data. 

Figshare - A popular multidisciplinary repository that was created to promote the sharing of scientific data. 

 

Computer Science and Mathematics

CiteSeerx - A scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses on the literature within the computer and information science disciplines.

Computing Research Repository - CoRR is part of the arXiv e-print service. CoRR allows researchers to search, browse and download papers through its online repository.

Electronic Proceedings in Theoretical Computer Science - EPTCS is an international refereed open access venue for the rapid electronic publication of the proceedings of workshops and conferences.

Github - A very popular repository for software and computer science projects.

Vixra - A e-print archive set up as an alternative to the popular arXiv.org service owned by Cornell University it provides materials pertaining to the broad disciplines of science and mathematics.

 

Engineering

engrXiv - An open-access archive of engineering related pre-prints.

Network for Earthquake Engineering Simulation (NEES) - Created by the National Science Foundation to improve engineering design and construction with regard to earthquakes and tsunamis.

OnePetro - Run by the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE). OnePetro is an online library of technical literature for the oil and gas exploration and production industry.  Provides contributions from twenty publishing partners and access to over 180,000 items.

Engineering by the numbers - Includes detailed profiles of U.S. and Canadian colleges and universities offering undergraduate and graduate engineering programs from the American Society of Engineering Educators (ASEE).  

 

Physics

CERN Document Server - The European Organization for Nuclear Research (Conseil Européen pour la Recherche Nucléaire) is a European research organization that operates the largest particle physics laboratory in the world.  

 

chat loading...