A patent is a set of exclusive rights which has been granted by a sovereign state (or sometimes as intergovernmental organization). Such rights are granted to an inventor, for a limited duration, in exchange for a detailed public disclosure of such invention. Patents typically exclude others from making or offering for sale those inventions.
This video provides assistance regarding taking a subject and locating relevant inventions and patents. This video also provides information regarding how to locate the full-text of a patent document.
Patents are generally granted from specific countries. Patent numbers often have prefixes that indicate which country granted the patent. For example, the patent US5577561A was generated from within the United States. Follow this link for a list of country codes That said, you may also encounter patents that have been generated from the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) which is an organization created by the United Nations in 1967.
Although the Roesch Library does not collect hard-copy patents they do subscribe to various electronic patent resources. Below is a list of resources which will assist you in locating patents.
Finding Patents Online
Google Patent Search - Not entirely comprehensive but Google does provide many full-texts of patents. IT is also very easy to use.
Derwent Innovations Index (Web of Science) - Provides access to over 15,000,000 patents with links to cited and citing patents, cited articles, and (some) full-text patent data sources. Divided by Chemical, Electrical and Electronic, and Engineering. Derwent is a Web of Science product. When using Derwent, make sure that "Select Database" is set to Derwent Innovations Index (see video above for example).
United States Patent and Trademark Organization (USPTO) - Includes full text of U.S. patents and patent application information.
European Patent Office Espacenet Patent Search - Provides full-text access of published European patents.
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) - Searches over 69 million international and national patent documents. Includes more than two million published international patent applications (PCT). WIPO is affiliated with the United Nations.
LexisNexis Academic - Provides comprehensive U.S. patent data. You can limit the search results on the left side of the screen to display only patents.
SciFinder - Provides only abstracts and info for patents. Not full text. That said SciFInder has indexed 10 million searchable, full-text patents from 31 major patent offices across the globe. You will need to register upon your first time using.
Wright State University Patent and Trademark Center - WSU has a formal agreement to provide assistance to the general public in the use of patent and trademark resources provided by the USPTO.
Technical standards are agreed upon protocols that establish interchangeability between products. Standards can come from national and international organizations. In short, standards are the reason that we have compatibility of products across manufactures. There are a variety of both national and international standards organizations. Such agencies include (but are not limited to): The International Standard Organization (ISO), American National Standards Institute (ANSI), Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), Acoustical Society of America (ASA), American Section of the International Association for Testing Materials (ASTM), and National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA).
The Roesch Library has a limited amount of hard copy standards. The collection includes American Welding Society and ASTM standards. You can search the library catalog and limit your search results to display only standards.
SAI Global - SAI Global is a very useful tool for locating information pertaining to standards. It can be used to do broad subject searches or to find a particular standard number or standards regarding a specific subject. Although SAI Global is a great starting point, it does not provide full text access to standards. For this, you will have to search the other standards resources available at the University of Dayton.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore - Comprehensive index of standards. Searches can be limited to display only standards.
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Standards - Provides technical guidelines for promoting safety, reliability, productivity, and efficiency across all areas of civil engineering.
ASTM Standards - Provides full-text of standards regarding a broad range of disciplines.
Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)Standards - Contains links to all current OSHA standards and information on the rule making process used to develop workplace health and safety standards.
If you are looking for other standards, you may be able to purchase them either from a vendor or the standards issuing agency. Unfortunately, standards can be extremely expensive depending upon the issuing organization. One recommended standards vendor is IHS. You can also ask for assistance from the Roesch Library staff.