Background Sources

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia is a comprehensive online reference database that indexes over 25,000 entries across a wide variety of subjects. It is designed for both students and adults, offering easy access to full-text articles by simply double-clicking on the desired topic. The database includes not only textual information but also images and brief biographies, making it a versatile resource for research and learning. Updated annually, it ensures that users have access to current information across diverse fields of knowledge. This encyclopedia is particularly useful for educational purposes, as it is integrated into various educational platforms, including those aimed at elementary and middle school students. Its user-friendly interface and extensive content make it an essential tool for anyone seeking reliable and accessible information.

This online library has hundreds of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including subject-specific biographical sources, directories, encyclopedias, and other reference sources related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies.

Current, peer-reviewed research from 30 encyclopedias, including the Encyclopedia of Social Work and the Oxford Classical Dictionary. This database includes full-text articles in the following disciplines: African History, American History, Anthropology, Asian History, Business and Management, Climate Science, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, Education, Environmental Science, Global Public Health, International Studies, Latin American History, Linguistics, Literature, Natural Hazard Science, Neuroscience, Physics, Planetary Science, Politics, Psychology, and Religion. Oxford University Press publishes the Oxford Research Encyclopedias with National Association of Social Workers (NASW) Press, American Institute of Physics (AIP), and International Studies Association (ISA).

This resource provides concise and original introductions to a diverse range of subject areas, written by expert authors who combine facts, analysis, new insights, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics readable. Browsable subject areas include Arts & Humanities, Law, Medicine & Health, Science & Mathematics, and Social Sciences. Search books, chapters, images, front matter, and end matter.

This platform contains full-text World Book Encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, an atlas, a citation builder, a dictionary, educator tools, government websites, interactive maps, resource guides, timelines, world newspapers, and world resources. Text is in English, French, and Spanish.