Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Responsive image
Libraries Research Guides

Advertising

TV & Radio

RADIO ONLINE ® provides Nielsen ratings by media market..
 
Nielsen  Data on consumer media and marketing behavior. Some free info, such as top 10 media rankings and news items.  
 
TV Ratings Report from Zap2it  Weekly and season-to-date Nielsen ratings for primetime TV series, as well as Nielsen ratings for cable series.
 
TV Guide Most Popular TV Shows  Includes most popular movies, videos, & celebrities.
 
Futon Critic Ratings Daily Nielsen data, along with FAQs that explain the data.
 
 

Planning Tools

Advertising Red Books (print)  Standard Directory of Advertisers includes companies' total ad expenditures, expenditures by media type, brands, ad agencies used, competitors, key personnel.  Standard Directory of Advertising Agencies  includes specializations, billings, media types, key personnel, and major accounts.

Magazines

Statista  Data on topics such as advertising rates, magazine revenue, social media use, etc., and includes links to the issuing sources.
 
MRI+ (Mediamark Research Inc.) Free with registration.  Magazine planning data resource.  Includes ad costs, circulation figures, magazine descriptions, audience demographics, ad deadlines, etc. Interactive features to specify ad size, dates, etc. and receive a total cost.  
 
MPA – The Association of Magazine Media Offers data by periodical title on advertising paging and expenditures, as well as research reports on readership, media effectiveness, audience behavior, etc. 

Thanks to Kate Pittsley, Business Information Librarian at  Eastern Michigan University, for many of the sources listed on this page. 

chat loading...