Industry Benchmarks
Industry benchmarks are average financial performance indicators against which to compare a company's numbers. In this way, they are used to gauge the financial health of a company. Most of the following resources are set up by NAICS or SIC code.
Benchmark Research
- Bizminer This link opens in a new window
Startup and small business statistics, such as annual sales and market share, failure rates, & entrepreneurial activity rates. Reports available for states and local areas as well as the national level. Data includes access to 9000+ markets and more than 10 million companies.
For best results, search with a NAICS code.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth analysis of over 700 U.S. industries at the national and state level. Global industry reports are particularly strong in the manufacturing sector.
For best results, search with a NAICS code. Find industry data and financial ratios in the Key Statistics section of an industry report.
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Industry Surveys include sections on Industry Financial Metrics and Comparative Company Analysis, which gives key statistics for the top companies in the industry side by side.
Industry Surveys include sections on Industry Financial Metrics and Comparative Company Analysis, which gives key statistics for the top companies in the industry side by side.
NAICS and SIC Codes
Many business databases can be searched by NAICS or SIC code. Searching with these codes can help narrow in on sources about a particular industry.
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. The NAICS system was meant to relace an older system called SIC (Standard Industrial Classification).
To identify a NAICS code, search for an industry or company in one of these sources:
- NAICS SearchSearch for an industry using a keyword or 2-6 digit code.
- SIC ManualBrowse or search for an industry using a keyword or code.
- Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Directory information for over 80 million businesses in the U.S. and Canada, customizable by type of business, geographic location, size of business, and sales. Data also available on more than 270 million consumers. - Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to both Gale's Brands & Their Companies and Ward's Business Directory of US Private & Public Companies. The former lists manufacturers and distributors from small businesses to large corporations, from both the public and private sectors. Provides complete coverage of U.S. consumer brands; manufacturers, importers and distributors; and companies that are out of business, as well as brands that are no longer in production or are now considered generic. The latter profiles over 100,000 U.S. companies, 90 percent of which are private. Intended for librarians, executives, students, analysts, marketers, and other professionals who require current company and industry profiles.
