Evidence Based Practice

This article database is a point-of-care information resource which contains over 10,000 clinical topics representing 25 specialties. In addition to searching the entire resource or viewing Topics by Specialty, there are options to view the newest updates (What's New), Practice Changing Updates, Drug Information, and Patient Education information. Specialties included are: Allergy and Immunology, Anesthesiology, Cardiovascular Medicine, Dermatology, Emergency Medicine (Adult and Pediatric), Endocrinology and Diabetes, Family Medicine and General Practice, Gastroenterology and Hepatology, General Surgery, Geriatrics, Hematology, Hospital Medicine, Infectious Diseases, Nephrology and Hypertension, Neurology, Obstetrics, Gynecology and Women's Health, Oncology, Palliative Care, Pediatrics, Primary Care (Adult), Primary Care Sports Medicine (Adolescents and Adults), Psychiatry, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, Rheumatology, and Sleep Medicine.

This collection of six databases provides evidence-based clinical information for healthcare providers. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) contains protocols and reviews of interventions, diagnostic tests, and methodology. The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) covers a broad range of health related interventions and thousands of abstracts of reviews in fields as diverse as diagnostic tests, public health, health promotion, pharmacology, surgery, psychology, and the organization and delivery of health care. The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) brings together abstracts of published articles from EMBASE, MEDLINE, and other published and unpublished sources. The Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR) is a bibliography of publications that report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. The Health Technology Assessment (HTA) database brings together details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. The NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED) contains information about both costs and effects that are essential to making evidence-based decisions about competing healthcare interventions throughout the world.

This comprehensive medical information source covers thousands of topics in all fields of medicine. The professional version is for medical professionals and students, with more advanced content and features, including instructional videos, clinical calculators, 3D models, case studies, news, and editorials. Find information about cardiovascular, dental, dermatologic, ear-nose-throat, endocrine, metabolic, eye, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, hepatic and biliary, immunology and allergy, neurologic, nutritional, psychiatric, and pulmonary disorders; clinical pharmacology, geriatrics, gynecology and obstetrics, hematology and oncology, infectious diseases, injuries, poisonings, pediatrics, and special subjects. The Manuals have also partnered with Elsevier to provide high-quality drug information from the Gold Standard Drug Database, from which users may search generic or brand name drugs.

This database comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE (indexed with Medical Subject Headings - MeSH) and PubMed Central (PMC), life science journals, and online books, with links to full-text content. PubMed's primary focus is biomedicine and health sciences, but it also includes related fields such as life sciences, behavioral science, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), which is located at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH).

This is a closed-access interface for the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) MEDLINE database, providing citations, indexing, and abstracts of biomedical literature. Unlike PubMed, this database is not hosted or maintained by NLM. MEDLINE provides information relevant to the fields of medicine, nursing, veterinary medicine, and dentistry, and also covers areas of life sciences, behavioral science, chemical sciences, and bioengineering that are related to biomedicine and health. This resource is used by healthcare professionals, nurses, clinicians, and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health, and health policy development. MEDLINE is the electronic counterpart and continuation of the print indexes "Index Medicus," "Index to Dental Literature," and "International Nursing Index."

As the electronic continuation of the print publication "Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature," this database provides comprehensive indexing for 4,500+ journals, covering the subjects of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, and consumer health. It also includes citations for health care books, book chapters, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisual materials, and publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Additionally, search full-text of journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, research instruments, and clinical trials.