Human Rights

This database provides comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects.

This full-text research database covers political topics with a worldwide focus, including international relations, political theory and comparative politics. With hundreds of full-text journals and thousands of conference papers, it is a valuable resource for political science researchers and government institutions. Subjects covered include: comparative government; constitutions & laws; democracy; humanitarian issues; ideology; international relations; law & legislation; national interest; non-governmental organizations; partisanship; political behavior, economy, partisanship, philosophy, systems, theory, and thought; power; practical politics; public administration; social order; and systems of governance.

This database includes full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals and magazines with searchable cited references, providing users with a wealth of information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. It also includes full text for more than 700 books and 6,000 conference papers. Abstracts for more than 800 journals are available back to 1895. Further, extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included. SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Peace Research Abstracts is a bibliographic database for peace and conflict resolution research. It indexes thousands of journal articles and other sources covering peace-related topics, including nonviolence, war, international affairs and peace psychology. Beyond journal articles and monographs, this database indexes valuable scholarly papers, government documents, speeches, international research studies and fugitive materials.

This intelligence database for security and threat analysis provides full-text articles, news feeds, reports, books, proprietary background information, images, journals, periodicals, and summaries covering regional conflict, terrorism, domestic security, and risk management options. It combines scholarly peer-reviewed journals with expert commentary from a variety of organizations, agencies, and publishers, and provides timely reviews of recent developments across the international political, military, economic, social and technical spectrum.

This bibliographic database covers all aspects of national and global public policy issues, including public health, the environment, housing, civil rights and international commerce. It includes thousands of indexed journals, conference papers, trade publications, and government documents. Subjects covered include banking & public finance, criminal justice, economic policy & taxation, education & education policy, emigration & immigration, energy & energy policy, ethics, government, humanitarian issues, industry & labor, law & legislation, natural disasters & poverty, politics & elections, social policy, and transportation.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the world’s largest online resource of full-text documents and articles devoted to research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies. The material in CIAO encompasses working papers, reports, policy briefs, and current analysis and commentary, as well as scholarly journal articles, e-books, and videos. Contribution to this cross-searchable library comes from government research organizations, independent think tanks, university analysis centers, and scholarly journals.