Library Guides: HSS 566: Database Searching

Databases

PubMed
A free resource offering access to a vast database of biomedical literature, including articles, clinical studies, and reviews, supporting research in health and life sciences.
This database comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE (indexed with Medical Subject Headings - MeSH) and PubMed Central (PMC), life science journals, and online books, with links to full-text content. PubMed's primary focus is biomedicine and health sciences, but it also includes related fields such as life sciences, behavioral science, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), which is located at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH).
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Nursing and allied health database providing access to full-text journals, evidence-based care sheets, and research articles, supporting healthcare research and practice. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
As the electronic continuation of the print publication "Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature," this database provides comprehensive indexing for 4,500+ journals, covering the subjects of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, and consumer health. It also includes citations for health care books, book chapters, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisual materials, and publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Additionally, search full-text of journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, research instruments, and clinical trials.
Natural Medicines
A comprehensive database providing evidence-based information on natural medicines, herbal products, dietary supplements, and their uses, safety, and effectiveness for health.
A comprehensive library of knowledge about dietary supplements and alternative therapies. This online tool curates evidenced-based research from unbiased, peer-reviewed sources to help you share informed guidance on integrative therapies. The databases cover topics such as food, herbs, and supplements; health and wellness; sports medicine; comparative effectiveness; manufacturers; commercial products; and fixed herbal combinations. Further tools include an interaction checker, a nutrient depletion checker, an effectiveness checker, charts, and advisories including the FDA Advisory.