Librarian
Standards
What are Technical Standards?
Technical standards are agreed upon ways of manufacturing items. Standards are the reason that we have compatibility among similar products from different manufacturers (E.g. the reason that your USB stick works in your computer regardless of who made it). Standards can be superseded or canceled and they are listed by their originating organization (such as ASTM). Standards tend to be expensive and different academic institutions may have different subscriptions to standards. Standards can be tricky to locate so don't hesitate to contact your engineering librarian for assistance.
- ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
This is the repository industry standards and technical information produced by ASTM International. Content includes books, articles, technical papers, and conference proceedings.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
This resource includes IEEE conference papers, journals, books, and technical standards on covering electrical engineering, computer science and electronics research from 1988 to the present. All content published since 1988 available in full text.
- SAI Global Standards Database
This tool can be used to do broad subject searches or to find a particular standard number or standards regarding a specific subject. It does not provide full text access to standards. For this, you will have to search the other standards resources available at the University of Dayton. - TechStreet
Indexes global collections of industry codes and standards. Descriptions are free, but full-text is not. Full text may available in a UD database. - Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)Standards
OSHA's mission is to ensure that employees work in a safe and healthful environment by setting and enforcing standards.
