Scholarly Articles - Following the Conversation
Academic journals and scholarly articles typically represent the reporting of the most current research in a given field. Whereas books may represent the amassed knowledge on a given subject, they often suffer from long publication times, and by the time they're published and distributed, there is often new research and knowledge in that field. For the most up-to-date look at your subject, look for scholarly articles in an academic database!
Where to Find Research Articles: Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary resource that includes journals, magazines, books, reports and proceedings. Contains over 10,000 titles, some coverage from 1880s to the present. - Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also includes selected monographs. Limited recent content. - Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for journal articles, reference books and monographs, and conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. - SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Sociology research database of full text journal articles, books, and conference papers. - UDiscover This link opens in a new window
A search tool that lets you retrieve all types of research sources with one search. - APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Psychological literature coverage includes journals, books, dissertations and technical reports, with coverage from 1872.
Where to Find Research Articles: Databases for Select Topics
These databases may be helpful for some research topics, but not others. If your proposal relates to one of these fields, you may want to try searching in these more specialized databases.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowPsychological literature coverage includes journals, books, dissertations and technical reports, with coverage from 1872.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains magazine and journal articles on criminology, law enforcement, and criminal law. - Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains over 1,200 journals and 500 books on education from early childhood to higher education. - Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Covers academic journals, newspapers, and books on gender-engaged scholarship. - GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Resource for scholarly, government and general-interest titles on environmental issues, with coverage including agriculture, education, law, health, and technology. - Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 590 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. - Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
A source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world, this collection includes law journals, documents, and case studies. - LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Covers lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender-specific core periodicals, books and reference works. Includes full text of important LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers.
