REL 103

This dictionary distills biblical scholarship and pastoral theology, and presents it in articles for the use of those in ministry. It primarily (although not exclusively) provides priests, religious teachers and educated laity a deeper understanding of the Bible and its central place in the life of the Church. Four types of article comprise the dictionary: introductory articles, major articles, secondary articles and brief entries.

The New Interpreter's® Dictionary of the Bible (NIDB) in five volumes provides the best quality in contemporary biblical scholarship on a comprehensive range of topics from the Old and New Testaments, the Deuterocanonical books, and from contextual studies of the ancient Near East and the Greco-Roman worlds and their literatures. The dictionary contains maps, charts, and illustrations to further clarify the written material. The biblical text used is the NRSV translation.

A Nelson exclusive. Study the meaning of biblical words in the original languages-without spending years learning Greek or Hebrew. This classic reference tool has helped thousands dig deeper into the meaning of the biblical text. Explains over 6,000 key biblical words. Includes a brand new comprehensive topical index that enables you to study biblical topics more thoroughly than ever before.

The New American Bible Concise Concordance is a useful word index to all 73 books of the New American Bible. Arranged in alphabetical order, it shows the book, chapter, and verse location of the most prominent words in the NAB and supplies several words of the context in which each word is found. This volume is the perfect accompaniment for anyone studying the NAB. It provides helpful access to texts most significant to personal and professional Scripture research, regardless of the reader's familiarity with this particular translation. The New American Bible is the standard translation for use in the Catholic Church in the United States. It is the first edition of the Catholic Scriptures in American English to have been translated from the original languages. The NAB is the translation that is publicly proclaimed in the Roman Catholic Mass, and it also appears in the missal. * The only concordance keyed to the latest edition of the New American Bible text. * A handy, affordable reference volume for anyone reading or studying the NAB, the standard translation for the American Catholics. * Two column text.

Learn about the history of the Bible, examine detailed maps of the journeys of its most famous figures, and acquaint oneself with its everyday world, including customs, clothing, music and social life. An easy-to-use, all-in-one reference, this book also contains a Who's Who section of important characters in the Bible, an overview of Bible-making and translation through the ages, and notes on geographical places in the Bible.

A comprehensive, up-to-date, treasure of Bible knowledge for anyone wanting to read the Bible for personal and group study. This practical and easy-to-read reference source includes introductions to each book, with commentary, historical background, practical application, and theological themes. Throughout you will find illustrations and charts, maps, glossaries, study aids, timelines, lists of important and essential Bible facts, and reading plans. Written for all students of Scripture, the Essential Bible Handbook explores not only the world of the Bible, but also and especially its meaning for contemporary believers. It provides a wealth of insight into biblical places, people, times, and beliefs. It explains the message of core passages like John 3:16, Psalm 23, The Ten Commandments, the Sermon on the Mount, the "I am" sayings in John, Jesus' parables, and many others. All who teach the Bible, lead study groups, or simply read Scripture in order to draw closer to God will find the Essential Bible Handbook an indispensable resource.