Library Guides: Engineering: Find Patents

Patents

Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to global patent information, helping researchers track innovations, analyze trends, and identify potential markets across various industries.
Using the Web of Science platform, Derwent World Patents Index and Derwent Patent Citation Index combine to form this index of worldwide patents (1963 to the present) in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering. It includes data from over 14 million basic inventions and over 80 million patent documents drawn from 50 patent-issuing authorities worldwide. The database offers patent searching as well as cited patent searching, which allows you to find the patents that cite a patent or patents.

Google Patents
Patents from around the world.
United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
Full text for U.S. patents issued from 1976 to the present and PDF images for all patents from 1790 to the present.
European Patent Office
Patent data from more than 80 different countries.
World International Patent Organization (WIPO)
Searches over 96 million international and national patent documents. WIPO is affiliated with the United Nations.
Nexis Uni Patent Search
Includes U.S. patents, European patent applications, Patent Abstracts of Japan, and Patent Cooperation Treaty patent applications.

CAS SciFinder This link opens in a new window
A research database providing access to chemical literature, including articles, patents, and chemical properties, supporting research and discovery in chemistry and related fields. New Users must register for an account with their UD email address.
Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), a division of the American Chemical Society, is a source of chemical information. CAS SciFinder is the world's most current and relied on source for chemical substance information with authoritative details on chemical substances and their related chemical structures, chemical names, regulatory information, and properties, including CAS Registry Numbers. NOTE: New Users must register for an account with their UD email address. This database is for UD students, staff & faculty only. UDRI employees are not eligible to use this database.

Wright State University Patent and Trademark Center
An official Patent and Trademark Resource Center of the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) with a formal agreement to provide assistance to the general public in the use of patent and trademark resources provided by the USPTO.