Oxford Companions and Handbooks
Oxford publishes two series, companions and handbooks. Each includes a number of titles in philosophy. The companions typically have short articles with bibliographies, while the handbooks consist of longer essays with bibliographies. Both are useful starting points for further research. Call numbers are provided for print volumes; electronic access is noted if available. Catalog records often provide tables of contents and other useful information. To find additional titles search Oxford Companion or Oxford Handbook as a title in the catalog.
Selected Oxford Companions and Handbooks
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy by Call Number: B51 .O94 2005; also available as an e-bookISBN: 0199264791Publication Date: 2005-05-26
The Oxford Handbook of Bioethics by Call Number: QH332 .O94 2007ISBN: 0199273359Publication Date: 2007-03-29
The Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Philosophy by Call Number: B790 .O94 2005ISBN: 019924295XPublication Date: 2005-12-29
The Oxford Handbook of Epistemology by Call Number: BD161 .O96 2002; also available as an e-bookISBN: 0195130057Publication Date: 2002-10-10
The Oxford Handbook of Free Will by Call Number: BJ1461 .F74 2002ISBN: 0195133366Publication Date: 2001-12-27
The Oxford Handbook of Metaphysics by Call Number: BD111 .O94 2003ISBN: 019825024XPublication Date: 2003-10-30
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Mathematics and Logic by Call Number: available as e-bookISBN: 0195148770Publication Date: 2005-02-10
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Religion by Call Number: BL51 .O94 2005; also available as an e-bookISBN: 0195138090Publication Date: 2004-12-16
The Oxford Handbook of Skepticism by Call Number: B837 .O94 2008ISBN: 0195183215Publication Date: 2008-09-22
